Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Utilization situation - please advise

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Utilization situation - please advise

I am a newbie and I have been reading various threads regarding utilization (a term I had never heard of before looking at this site). In a few months (4-5) I intend to apply for a mortgage and I think my credit card situation and future usage can be changed to improve my FICO score. I have always PIF on all the credit cards and never “carry a balance”. 

Here are the credit cards I have and how I use them:

1. I have a Wal-Mart cc that has a $600 CL, I have had it for a couple of years and I hardly ever use it. The maximum monthly balance was probable $50.
  2. I have a Mobil gas cc that has a $250 CL, I have had it for a couple of years and I hardly use it. The maximum monthly balance was probably $35.
  3. I have a BOA cc that has a $16,000 CL, I have had it for ten years. My monthly balances can and routinely do amount to $5000-$7000. Because it is a rewards card I want to continue to use this cc a lot.
  4. I have a new Citi cc with a $15,000 CL, I just got it 2 months ago and it has only had a maximum monthly balance of $35

Here are my questions:

What should I do, if anything regarding the Wal-Mart and Mobil cc’s? I gather I should use them more frequently.

From reading the threads I can, and should, lower the utilization % from 35-50% on the BOA cc. I can do this for the next several months by paying the balance down to 1-9% utilization before they report it to the CRA’s. However, when exactly is the date that BOA will report it to them? From what I read it appears to be the statement date which is around the 15th of each month. Therefore 4-5 days before the statement date I should pay the balance down.

If I can keep the utilization % within 1-9% for the individual cc and the total cc CL I should improve my FICO score. Please let me know if what I have said “makes sense” Thanks.