Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Utilization%.....

tag
theREBIRTHofCREDIT
Regular Contributor

Utilization%.....

Advise given...Always keep utilization @ 1-9% on revolving credit accounts (OK)

I have a HSBC mastercard with $300 limit ($189 balance)
I have a NY&C store card with $300 limit ($0 balance-haven't used in 2 yrs.)
I have a Dell Financial account with $1500 limit ($0 balance as of 11/07)

ALSO...car loan $14,000 balance and student loan $17,000 balance (installment loans)

Q1: As far as utilization is concerned, am I safe or should I pay down my HSBC card?
Q2: Should I pay to a $0 balance or ALWAYS keep 1-9% on ALL (revolving)?
Q3: How is installment loans factored into this utilization%?

Thankx in AdvanceSmiley Wink
theREBIRTHofCREDIT
Goal Score 680+
Start Score ........ 2/05/14: ...EX 612 -TU 575 -EQ 567
Current Score .... 5/02/14: ...EX 652 -TU 655 -EQ 646

I almost paid for credit repair......until I found myFICO!!!!!
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Utilization%.....

q1 if you can pay it down do it
q2 fico like 1-9% reporting, you can revolve it or make a payment before statement cuts, then pif after statement cuts to avoid charges. will invlove at least 2 payments a month.
q3 instalment loans aren't scored the same as revolving accounts

Message Edited by dnm45227 on 11-18-2007 12:06 AM
Message 2 of 5
haulingthescoreup
Moderator Emerita

@theREBIRTHofCREDIT wrote:
@Advise given...Always keep utilization @ 1-9% on revolving credit accounts (OK)
I have a HSBC mastercard with $300 limit ($189 balance)
I have a NY&C store card with $300 limit ($0 balance-haven't used in 2 yrs.)
I have a Dell Financial account with $1500 limit ($0 balance as of 11/07)
ALSO...car loan $14,000 balance and student loan $17,000 balance (installment loans)
Q1: As far as utilization is concerned, am I safe or should I pay down my HSBC card?
Q2: Should I pay to a $0 balance or ALWAYS keep 1-9% on ALL (revolving)?