Did you mean: 

WILL DISCOVER TURN ME DOWN IF.....

tag
tennisfan78
Established Contributor

Re: WILL DISCOVER TURN ME DOWN IF.....

@MountainHiker wrote:

@MovingForward_2012 wrote:
I'm new to stuff like this. What is the risk of paying the collection before it falls off?

It could stay on your credit report longer.

Once it falls of the credit report, and the collection agency still keeps bugging you, and if it is settled and paid, will it make its way back on to the credit report?  I sure hope not.

Starting Score: EQ=665,TU=618 on Oct 9,2010
EQ=702,TU=725 on Apr 11, 2012 EQ=705 on Oct 31, 2012 Current Score: EQ=702, TU=714 on Dec 8, 2012
Goal Score: 750

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 11 of 26
MovingForward_2012
Valued Contributor

Ah! I see! That's bad! :-|
Cards: Orchard Bank ($1100) | Cap1 Cash Rewards ($2500) | Chase Freedom ($1000) | Best Buy ($2500) | Discover It ($1000) | Barclay Rewards ($2500) | Current scores: EX FAKO: 684, CK TU: 649, FICO EQ: 680, FICO TU: 698, FICO EX: 658 Happy Homeowner Since 2/6/13! Smiley Happy Last App: 4/5/13 Gardening until July 2014
Message 12 of 26
tinuviel
Moderator Emeritus

@MountainHiker wrote:

I'm new to stuff like this. What is the risk of paying the collection before it falls off?

No, it won't stay on your credit report longer. There is one date that is set in stone for reporting CO/CAs, and that is the date of first delinquency (DOFD), which is the date when the account first became delinquent, leading to the CO/CA. The CO will stay on for anywhere between 7 to 7-1/2 years, but it must be removed after that.

What paying it will do, however, is update the date of last activity (DOLA) of the account. This will be updated with the CRAs and will make any collection activity look more recent; this could, indeed, hurt your scores.

Current Scores: EQ 775 (03/04/2014), EX 756 (03/01/2014), TU 760 (03/01/2014)
Ruby Spade Garden Club Member - Last App: 03/04/2013 - No apps until 2014