cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wells Fargo Card Services APR awful! Won't budge!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Wells Fargo Card Services APR awful! Won't budge!

I've been banking with Wells Fargo Bank for about 10 years now, holding their platinum card for 7 years.  I have a $9000 credit limit and it was my go to card for big purchases.  I've always carried a balance on it of about $4K and always payed well over minimum every month... was doing an audit on my APR, which I had found was an unacceptable 19%. 

So I called WFB Card Services and they had explained that they had bumped my APR from 16% (which was still a touch high, IMO) to 19% in November, simply because I did not respond to one of their mailers which stated I had to electively opt out of getting my rate bumped and that non response meant that I agreed to the terms and conditions.  I told the rep that I obviously paid attention to my bills, but I generally disregarded mailers that appeared to be promotional. Nothing.  I asked if WFB took these actions in lieu of the CARD Act, and the rep indicated it was a factor, but would not give a solid answer.  I told him that I don't think my credit was the other factor, as I knew I had excellent credit, and he could see on his screen that I had a fantastic credit/payment history with them.

I indicated that Bank of America, who I had a card with for 5 years has been providing me with a non promotional purchase APR of 7.24%, prime included, yet WFB would absolutely not budge on giving me a reasonable APR, even when I said I can't logically see how I can justify using their credit card as much as I had, when I am getting much better rates from my other creditors, who seemed to appreciate the amount of business I was doing with them.