Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What income should I put on app?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What income should I put on app?

I finally got my credit score up over 700! Experian shows a score of 727 and TU at 739! 

Because of the credit score, i've decided to try and pull the trigger on opening my third CC, an Amex card. Which if approved, I will end up gardening for the foreseable future.

Question 1:

What income should i state on the Amex app? I am currently a full-time student while also working part-time at a hedge fund. The same hedge fund has offered me a full time position as soon as i gradute (may 2015). On the app, should I put what my yearly income would be if i stayed part-time or should I put my income as if i was full time? The main reason i ask is because the part-time income is considerably less (almost half) of what it will be full time and I do know what I will be making as soon as i start full time.

Question 2:

What amex card should i go for? Currently I have a Discover Card and the Chase Freedom. I enjoy the cash back with the freedom but really only use it for statement credit. I am torn between:

-Everyday

-Blue Sky

-Blue

-Delta Skymiles

Also, should I just go for the basic card or the preferred card with the annual fee? Any tips or recommendations greatly appreciated! Hopefully I get approved and I can sit tight for a long time as i'll have the 3 cards I want!

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
jon22guitar
Regular Contributor

Re: What income should I put on app?

Put your income as what you can currently prove it is (via pay stubs), not what you expect it may be in the future; however, you can update your income in the future. Remember, employment is only one source of income. You can also include annuities, investments, etc. 

CSP 10,000, Citi Forward 3400, Barclay Arrival+ 2750, BOA Travel Rewards 2700, Discover IT 1500, Chase Freedom 1000, Crap One 500
Message 2 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable