cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's the big deal about prepaid cards?

tag
compassion101
Established Contributor

Re: What's the big deal about prepaid cards?

@jsickz32 wrote:

i kinda want it for this reason aswell. i recently turned 21 so im new to the whole bars, stripclubs and clubs. i want to get this card and put whatever limit i want to spend that night. ive spent way more than what i wanted sometimes just because i had my debit card with me.

I don't think the girls at the stripclubs take AMEX Smiley Happy

Message 31 of 35
navigatethis12
Valued Contributor

Some prepaid cards have some very nice incentives. When I was looking for ways to meet bonus requirments I found one that gave a point for every dollar reloaded and when you got 4500 points you could get $50. You could also set it up for external transfer, so load, get $50, and take the money back out. It was a very lucrative card, even though I never swiped it.

I also have two now because they each have high yield savings accounts (5 and 6%). No bank has this and when I searched for high yield savings they came up. Other than that, I never understood why anyone would get them. Usually they have many fees and you're paying all that money and not gaining anything. I guess when you are desperate though, you will take anything.

Message 32 of 35
CreditScholar
Valued Contributor

@navigatethis12 wrote:

Some prepaid cards have some very nice incentives. When I was looking for ways to meet bonus requirments I found one that gave a point for every dollar reloaded and when you got 4500 points you could get $50. You could also set it up for external transfer, so load, get $50, and take the money back out. It was a very lucrative card, even though I never swiped it.