cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What to count as income? DISCOVER CLI rules?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

What to count as income? DISCOVER CLI rules?

I'm a student who works part-time on campus, but also receive help from my parents for rent, car, insurance, etc. I also have an internship currently for the summer. I am soon eligible for a CLI request and would like to know what to factor into my "income."

Should I try to calculate my income for the entire year factoring in everything, or just count my internship income (substantially greater than campus job) for the entire year and go with that? I am pretty new to this and would like advice from the myFICO community.

I also have had a DISCOVER It card for 87 days and have not received an Auto-CLI. When would I be safe to ask for a SP CLI? 91 days? After 3rd statement closes?

Thank you!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
austinguy907
Valued Contributor

Re: What to count as income? DISCOVER CLI rules?

Income = whatever you can prove / student income is a bit different.... add up your sources and use it on the form.

CLI's - if you don't see an auto by day 90 then chances are you won't be seeing one.  If you hit the button and don't get one then remind yourself monthly to hit the button.  They're a bit jacked up right now for higher limit CLI's but, smaller limit i.e sub 20K seem to get plenty of attn.

Message 2 of 7
AverageJoesCredit
Legendary Contributor

I would hit the button a few days after your third statement. The amount you receive will tell you alot about where Discover has bracketed you at the moment, imhoSmiley Happy
Message 3 of 7
Tazman81
Established Contributor