Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When should I apply?

tag
myjourney
Super Contributor

Re: When should I apply?

@Killerz187 wrote:

I just have a basic unsecured Bank of America CC with a $700 limit, started off as a secure card with $300 two years ago. I am still a student, going to school and working.

Would a Student CC have the limit I'm looking for? 

I don't think I've even ever applied for a card, oh, but I did get approved for a  $2000 account with HP  last year that I'm just about done paying off the $1300 I used on it, balance is ~400 this month. Never been late on that one either, but I don't see myself using it again, nothing HP has interests me currently. Would it be ok to close that one? Does it even count since I cant use it anywhere but with HP?

Edit: I make just a little under 20k right now, but when I get out of training at work my base pay will rise, and I'll be getting attendance and performance bonuses that will push me up to around 21-22k.

I think Discover and Citi forward would be a good fit for you although no one can say what limit you would get ...sorry

Before you app think...
Have you done your research of the CC?
Does it fit your spending?
Do you have a plan for the bonus w/o going into debt?
Can you afford the AF?
Do you know the cards benefits? Is it worth the HP?
Message 11 of 17
hot4u
Established Contributor

I would go with Discover...

(Chase)- Freedom, CSP®, United MileagePlus® Explorer, Marriott Rewards® Premier, Penfed cash+ rewards/Promise/Defender.
Amex’s- BCE, Hilton, SPG®, PRG® and Blue®, NFCU Cash Rewards, FHB Destinations World Elite.
- Amex Centurion,(Citi) Executive/Platinum® Advantage

Alaska Airlines
Message 12 of 17
Killerz187

Thank you for the info guys/gals, have a plan of what to do now.

Being that I've never applied for cards before, if I were to apply for more than one, should I do it one at a time or a few at once?

Discover it: $3500
Chase Freedom: $3000
Amex BCE: $2000
BofA Cash Rewards: $2000