Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When to apply for 3rd credit card?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

When to apply for 3rd credit card?

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum, but have read very useful information on here, so I thought I would join in Smiley Happy

I'm a 25-year-old medical student with no real income (since I'm a student), but I also don't have a loan, as my parents are generous enough to pay for my education.

About my credit history:

I was approved in Feb 2016 for the amazon store card ($1700), then made the mistake of applying for the Chase Freedom Unlimited on July 2016, since Credit Karma stated my chances of approval as "Very High", but Chase told me was my credit history was not enough and told me they needed to see "at least 9 months".

Amazon store card history: I always pay on time and my max usage was around $400, but I paid it off already.

Now, I waited until today to apply for a Discover Student Card, and they have asked me to upload proof of my identity. I'm now waiting for their response. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I read a post on this forum that proof of identity probably means an acceptance.

My question is when to apply for a 3rd credit card and what card would be best.

I'm worried about graduating from Med School and not having access to low interest rates due to not enough credit history.

Thank you everyone.

Message 1 of 46
45 REPLIES 45
austinguy907
Valued Contributor

Re: When to apply for 3rd credit card?