Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When to apply for another credit card?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

When to apply for another credit card?

I am new to the credit world as of 3 months ago. I wanted to start building my credit so I talked to my bank and we decided to apply for the PNC cash builder. Two weeks later I was denied. The same day I got the letter I did some research and applied for the capital one student journey card. I was approved in less than a minute with a $300 credit limit. I am very good with money and finances for my age (21) and really would love to get another card with higher cash back. I currently get 1-1.25% cash back with my journey card. I really love everything about the sams club master card because it earns 5% on gas, 3% on travel/dinning, and 1% on everything else. No annual fee and it has special financing offers such as no interest on tv's, computers, tires, jewelry, etc. I don't want to apply and get denied because I will have to wait a few months to try again so I just want to know when is a good time to apply? I have a TU score of 722 and no debt. 

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: When to apply for another credit card?

i would try with the Discover It. They arevery liberal with CL IMO

Message 2 of 10
B335is
Moderator Emeritus

Have you tried any of the pre-qualifiers?  I don't think you will get anything from Chase or Citi, but Amex, Barclays and Discover might be possible.  Discover tends to like people who have few accounts and young credit age.

Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

On the discover website I was pre qualified for the it card but I'm not sure if it says that for everyone or it's really pre approved. 

Message 4 of 10
Skye12329
Valued Contributor