Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which card to get & AU help-New to credit Please help

tag
bmwman3241
Established Member

Which card to get & AU help-New to credit Please help

I am new to credit and have a few questions and would appreciate some help.

I currently have a secured card and am looking to apply for some new cards in the near future. I am new to credit and have no prior credit before July. Income is $18,000. My current goal is to have an AMEX SPG and other AMEX rewards card as well as a Chase CSP.  

Credit Karma-727    Credit Sesame-773

- I have a trip planned in February ($3,000 at a Starwood hotel) and would like to have the AMEX SPG by then if possible to earn extra points for my stay.

- I need to make some large purchases $7k, 3k, 2k in the next 2 months which I will pay in full, but would like to earn point or cashback on them.

My Cards-

Union Bank Secure $1,000 limit      July-13     ~50 Balance

AU Cards

CapitalOne QuickSilver   $3,250     Nov-13 (backdated to Feb-2002)

CapitalOne Platinum   $2,600     Nov-13 (backdated to Feb-2000)

AMEX SPG   $10,000          Nov-13 (Hasn’t shown up on CR report yet)

All 3 AU account have balances which get paid off before statement closing or PIF after. No negatives on any account.

I opened a Chase checking account a couple days ago and was told I was pre-approved for a Freedom card. I have checked AMEX, Discover, and CapOne pre approval and nothings shows up.

Questions

1. Which bank/card companies take into account AU accounts when applying for a card, and will take the higher limits into consideration?
  2. Although the Chase Freedom is pre-approved, what are my chances of being approved for it? Any guess on the limit I might get?
  3. When should I apply for the AMEX SPG? When should I apply for my first AMEX if SPG is not for new/average history?
  4. Any recommendations on which card to apply next?
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita