Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which to go with?

tag
PippiLongstockingWannabe
Valued Member

Which to go with?

Ok my head is spinning now after reading this forum and reading about different cards on bankrate.com

Summary: I've been working on cleaning up my financials for several years now. In July I finally closed on my first house. I just financed two cars in the past 2 weeks. Paid for car died and it was tough having to share my car with my mom who I support so when it turned out I could get approved for a 2nd car, I went ahead and got it - yea I know this is gonna be a shock to the credit rating when it all reports but right now none of it is.

My score, pulled this morning is 741 at EQ. Aside from the things mentioned above that aren't reporting yet, I have a student loan that will be done in May and is my oldest acct by 14 yrs, a HSBC BB store card + a TL with my CU that together give me a 20% util rate.

I'd made the stereotypical college credit card mistakes so when those cards shut down, I accepted and paid off the balances in settlement offers they made me and they fell off my report in '07. But I've not touched credit cards since then with exception of getting the store card which isn't quite the same thing I know.

Especially in light of being a new homeowner and a first time one, it seems to me that if I can sneak in opening a card or two before it all gets reported and I have to lay low for a year... that I should so that at least I have the cards in case I need them.

With the BestBuy card, my pattern with them is to buy big ticket items in a 18-24 mo 0% financing, pay it off slowly with a balloon payment near the end before 0% expires. They auto CLI'd me last year from approx $2200 to ~$2600 around this time (holiday shopping heheh). I just recently paid off the last balloon and then a ~$100 purchase that wasn't 0% (I miss the 90 day same as cash! sigh). But the latter isn't reporting right now.