Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why Zync?

tag
jforsyth
Regular Contributor

Why Zync?

I'd just like to start off by saying that I'm not making this thread to bash Amex or their new card. I'm a student with 5 months of history on one card and I'm about a month away from a series of applications for a second one. I'm just curious as to what people might have to say about Zync.

With that out of the way, people have been recommending application for this card a LOT recently on these boards (more than any other card I'd say). I know Amex is renowned for their customer service and is considered the gold standard in the credit world, but is this card really more desirable than:

Citi Forward,

Citi mtvU,

Discover Student,

or Chase +1?

for people with limited, yet responsible credit histories?

The glaring issue that I take with Zync when comparing it to the cards listed above is its annual fee. While the minimum $25 dollars isn't exactly steep, it seems a little out of place considering the card is being marketed towards a younger audience. Usually, a card's benefits are supposed to outweigh an annual fee. However, younger people aren't exactly the type to accumulate enormous amounts of points. For people who have Zync or another Amex charge card: how good are the rewards/services? Are they worth the fee? Is adding any of the other non-free bonus packs worth it as a student or as someone with limited income? Are the rewards better than those of the cards listed above?