Did you mean: 

Why is "too much" credit "bad"?

tag
redpat
Senior Contributor

Re: Why is "too much" credit "bad"?

@Anonymous wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

Also not everyone has the luxury of having an emergency fund.  For them their credit cards are their emergency funds.  Or even if you have an emergency fund something beyond what you financially expect comes up like a medical emergency, lay off, theft, family issues, etc.

Right, but let's say someone has a vast amount of liquid assets to cover all of that. 

As a college student I would assume those liquid assets would be Mom's or Dad's?

I don't know many college students or many young adults starting out flush with liquid assets, unless some were given to them.

Personal Cards: Amex Plat | Amex Delta Res | CSR | Citi AA Exec Business Cards: Ink+ | Amex BGR
Message 21 of 44
Anonymous
Not applicable

Whether someone has credit lines equal to their annual income or 3X their annual income (or more) or anywhere in between, IMO if any of those people were to "max out" their credit lines at any given time due to hundreds of thousands of dollars in medical expenses or whatever reason, there's no way any of those people can pay that back.

If your salary is $30k a year (you're taking home $20-25k) and you max out $30k in CC debt, after paying bills and such there is no way you can physically pay that back in any sort of realistic time frame.  Same goes for a guy taking home $100k a year and running up $400k in CC debt. 

I just find it funny what creditors consider "too much" credit when realistically a large majority of people probably have "too much credit" as in if they ever went balls to the wall and used it all they more than likely wouldn't be able to ever pay it back.

Obviously part of the "risk" that they assume and factor in is that even with huge credit lines, individuals even in a jam usually won't come close to using all of their available credit.

Message 22 of 44
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor