Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Worth calling for RECON?

tag
sailortwerk
New Visitor

Worth calling for RECON?

To start this topic I must state this: I am 23 years old. I work fulltime and I am also a fulltime student at a four year university. I made some poor decisions a few years ago. I married too young and within a year and a half I was knee-deep in a nasty divorce. A casualty of my divorce was that I was left broke and unable to pay a few of my credit accounts. Those accounts have since gone into collections. I have settle two of the accounts (paid for less than the full amount) and one is still open in collections. I had not opened a new credit account since this happened. In March of this year I was able to open a secured credit card with Bank of America ($300 CL). This boosted my score a lot. It has since gone from around 585 to 615. I have also opened a Fingerhut account ($500 CL). One of the accounts that went into collections was a Capital One account. I was able to open a secured line with them this weekend (4/12). I have made the deposit but have yet to know what the CL of that card is. I have also been able to refiance my car through a CU (initial loan $22,400, 11.89% APR, 72 months, $440 per month / new loan $13,600, 10.00% APR, $298 per month, 72 months).

*sighs* That was a lot. I don't blame you if TL;DR.

NOW... My question is...

I applied for a Discover IT Student on 4/12, the same day I was approved for the CO card. Denied. They then gave me a link to apply with a co-signer. I don't have anyone to co-sign with. I am on my own and paying my own way. Would it be worth to call for a RECON?

Also...