cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Worth hard pulls for Schwab's cash back card? (AMEX & Chase downsizing their rewards now)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Worth hard pulls for Schwab's cash back card? (AMEX & Chase downsizing their rewards now)

Here's my story:

I have been using AMEX Blue Cash for most of my spending except where places dont accept AMEX, then I use my Chase Freedom. Both I've been using since 2007. Here is my cash back breakdown so far. (More to my questions after the analysis below):

For AMEX Blue Cash (2007-2008):
Charges: $20063.16
Cash Back: $298.60
Percentage: 1.49%

For AMEX Blue Cash (2008-Now):
Charges: 19959.28
Cash Back: $265.38
Percentage: 1.33%

I guess I'm going to apply for Charles Schwab Invest First 2% on all charges. At least it gives me exact 2% and its a VISA, its accepted everywhere. But applying for Schwab card might take 2-3 hard pull on my credit profile (kudos to myFico forums). I plan on not using the AMEX Blue Cash ($10000 CL), Chase Perfect ($2500 CL) and Chase Freedom ($5500 CL) anymore except those *Keep-It-Alive* charges once in a while (kudos to myFico forums) after I got the Schwab card. Although AMEX has some nice feature like additional warranty and great customer service, but I assume I'd get the Visa Signature which would provide the same if i'm correct. But again, Visa Signature NPSL would kill the credit utilization ratio (kudos to myFico forums). Do you guys think it would be worth it to do it?
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Lyythine
Established Contributor

Re: Worth hard pulls for Schwab's cash back card? (AMEX & Chase downsizing their rewards now)

Well, in answer to your question, yes, I think the schwab visa is a great idea! I would apply myself if I didnt have 7inquiries on my reports right now....

And second, I have two visa signature accounts (chase and citi) and from what I can tell, neither of them are counted in my util... So, that shouldnt hurt you too much.