cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Your Highest CLI for Capital One Credit Steps Card?

tag
Repairman
Established Contributor

Your Highest CLI for Capital One Credit Steps Card?

For all those who participated in Cap 1's Credit Steps program, what's the highest cl you eventually topped out at? Whether you stayed with the original Platinum MasterCard or if you PC'd it to another card. I graduated from the CS program, PC'd mine to a Quicksilver and am currently sitting at a $2750 cl. How much more can I realistically expect it to grow? FYI, I have 2 other cards with Cap 1 with a combined limit of $25,000.

Message 1 of 18
17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Your Highest CLI for Capital One Credit Steps Card?

I think you are reaching max exposure. My Plat Mc is 2750 also.

My total exposure is 28.6k over 4 cards not including spark.

My income 73kish

However there was a recent thread where someone got 60k around the same income on 1 QS.

Asked EO for an increase cited total limits across all accounts cap. It's a crap shoot with cap1
Message 2 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

Should also add I pc'ed my Plat mc to a QS.
Message 3 of 18
Repairman
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:
Should also add I pc'ed my Plat mc to a QS.

How long have you been sittinon that cl? And was it an auto increase or did you request? How long since you last requested and how frequently?

Message 4 of 18
Anonymous
Not applicable

My first credit card since I started rebuilding was the Capital One Journey card (for students). It was in the credit steps program; my starting limit was $1,000, and after my 6th statement they auto raised it to $5,000 -- so a $4,000 increase. I never requested a CLI on this card during that time (I still haven't). I used it heavy for those 6 months, I paid large portions of the balance every month, but still carried over balances each month. Not sure if that helped me get such a big increase, but I thought I'd share.