Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

any ideas? can't get a card...

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

any ideas? can't get a card...

I can't find anything that applies to my specific problem, so I thought I'd throw it out to the brain trust (seriously, you guys are geniuses!)

My scores are withing 5 points of 700, plus or minus. (that's not awful, right?) My last late payment was 4.5 years ago. I have a 5000 limit on my Wachovia card (sav. & ck with them). I PIF every month.

Since screwing up as a college student, I've been more of a cash person. I also live overseas, and we get dinged with that overseas fee. I try to just use it for online purchases. My billing addresses are in the US.

I can't seem to qualify for anything online. Cap 1 turned me down flat, Chase gave me the "still reviewing" message, and its been 3 weeks.

Should I even bother with BofA? I noticed on one of the sites (cap1 or bofa) that they define good credit as having at least one CC with higher than a 5000 limit. Am I being punished for not using credit cards, and if so, how do I use one if I can't get one?

Happy to provide more info if asked, but I don't want to go overboard.

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: any ideas? can't get a card...

Good Morning pjxf99, Smiley Happy

Thanks for the collective compliment! Our strength
is in our numbers. Smiley Happy

Since all 3 of your FICO scores are in the 700 range
you should have no problem getting a credit card. You're
definitely in the ballpark with BofA - it's simply a matter of
whether you choose to apply. As long as you have a US
address and phone number there should be no problem.

Since you live overseas but maintain a US mailing address,
you might look into a credit union. Even if you don't have a govt/military
background, Pentagon Federal might be a good fit for you. You can
join one of the affiliated organizations for a modest fee of $25 and then