Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

application question about navy federal

tag
rootpooty
Valued Contributor

application question about navy federal

so i new to the cc world and rebuilding my credit due to unpaid medical bills. 2 months ago i got a premier bank secured card followed by a bofa secured card. well after reading hundreds of threads it always seems that someone is mentioning a credit union. so upon further review of reviews on credit unions navy federal always poped up and with the help of my younger brother (who is active duty in marines and also a member) i joined last night and opened a secured card for 500. after talking with the rep for about 30min about their cc's they dont graduate secured cards like bofa does HOWEVER just pay my bill ontime with no lates for the next year and even with some baddies on my report they most likely look past it. not that im counting my chickens before they hatch but ive been banking with chase for 3 years now with several cd's and what not and they denied me on a freedom card. it seems like with navy federal had i been banking with them my chances of getting an unsecured card would have been greater. so within the next year once i have better credit with better fire power if chase denies me again it will be bye bye chase and i will direct all of my banking with navy federal!

SEE THIRD POST FOR EDIT

NFCU plat 5k | NAVCHECK 5k | NFCU cashrewards 15k | BOFA 123 6k |
Chase Freedom 1.5k | Amazon 3K | Walmart 3K | Buckle 300 | AMEX BCE 2.5K | CHASE CSP 12K | CITI sears 6k | Kay 2k

On the prowl for Chase Sapphire Preferred! APPROVED 12K!
scores 7/14 647 622 630 (85%util)
scores 8/14 767 760 758 Boom! finally in the 700 club
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
ChesterPDexter
Established Contributor

Re: pretty happy now ive joined navy federal cu

That was a good move you made.  I'm sure that if you have patience, they'll treat you way better than stinky old Chase ever would.

Legendary Contributor