cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

best way to help out someone to build credit?

tag
wilson382
New Contributor

best way to help out someone to build credit?

Hello Guys,

my uncle asked me to help build credit he never had credit ever So i was thinking

Option 1. Make him apply for a credit card of low limit like $500 where i co sign for him.

Option 2 .Add him as an authorized user on my old credit card.

Option 3. Geetting a secured credit card

which one will be faster or easier like I said he never had a credit no where.

I can co sign him with no risk we live together.

Message 1 of 19
18 REPLIES 18
Santi78342
Established Contributor

Re: best way to help out someone to build credit?

I'm no expert myself but I would use Credit Karma to give a rough idea of his situation. If he's never had any credit it will at least show any baddies he has had (collections etc.) 

After that I would check all the pre-qualifications sites. Capital One, Discover, Citi, Chase, BofA, US Bank, Barclays, & AmEx all have one.

App for one or two cards that hopefully pop up on those. If none, app for a Capital One and a Discover card.

Just my 2 cents

EDIT:

I would also add him as an AU on your oldest card but not give him a physical CC to actually use. Just because you live with him doesn't mean he won't go out and max it out! But it is definitely up to you! 

I would also maybe check with a local Credit Union or whomever he banks with to see if they would give him a card if he has established a good banking relationship with them.

Message 2 of 19
shane82388
Established Contributor

Yeah you can add him as an AU and just cut up the card. This should get him going in the direction of being approved for another card, and you can then take him off as an AU on your account...

Message 3 of 19
compassion101
Established Contributor

@shane82388 wrote: