Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

beyond confused on how this all works

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

beyond confused on how this all works

So, I am pretty new to the credit game and my scores are absolutely horrendous. I am trying to clean up the mess I have made but encountering difficulties since I do not fully understand how to manage credit.

My current scores are 629 equifax, 602 transunion and 611 for exp. This is a rebalnace from last month when equifax was 638, transunion 602 and exp 603. 

I originally messed up my credit because I had opened 3 credit cards: with express, VS, and capital one. I didnt understand credit cards back then and I have greater than 120 days not missed on all those accounts and they all went into collections. I paid off the collections and the accounts were closed in 2011. 

Since then, I decided I needed to clean up my history if I ever wanted to buy a house, even rent. One of the suggestions was to apply for credit cards which I did. I currently have a credit one cc with a 300 dollar limit which shows a 0 balance and two secured cards. one from fnbo for 300 and open sky for 200. Last month I had a balane of 29 dollars on the fnbo and i paid it off in full (actually I ended up paying more than owed to the credit company and the new balance was -40.00) but my score dropped from 638 to 629?? 

I am pretty sure I have no idea how to use credit cards which is why my score is dropping. Usually, I buy something with my credit card and pay off in full (usually i pay a few dollars more than owed so i wont acquire interest) before the statement cuts. Is this wrong? How should i be using credit cards and paying them? My amount owed is always 0 and minimum is always 0.