Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

bicycle ride of credit card payoff

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

bicycle ride of credit card payoff

I decided to quickly pay off my $3K balance on the NFCU Cash Rewards, although the interest is only 3% and the account is just a couple of weeks old.  I paid $2K today and the rest of it will be zeroed in early March.   I plan to pay off $200 balance on Cap 1 QS and maybe close both Cap 1 accounts that are 2-3 years old.  I use my new CSP everyday for food and pay it off immediately.  For the heck of it I tried and was denied a CLI on Quicksilver ($2K CL) and have $3K limit on a journey card.  I also am thinking about canceling AMEX green and USAA Classic as well, though the AMEX has a 24 year history and the USAA is 3 years old.  I just don't need all this crap.  The NFCU card and chase are enough.  I'm a disabled vet with medical problems and limited income, so maybe I should just be grateful for the NFCU and the CSP for my limited travel plans.  I will have a large home equity line of credit  to pay the rest of my life and lots of bad credit history for awhile, so maybe I should just try to keep it simple.  My 650 score isn't going to go up, but might go down if I close AMEX and some of my other old accounts, my only reason for keeping them open at the moment.  USAA fee due in June, AMEX in August, CSP in December.  $20K limit on 4 cards is plenty for me. Maybe it's time to stop worrying about credit scores, cards, gold prices, oil, and play some more music or something.  Get a life if I can find one at my age (54) and condition.  Thanks to all who have helped me here.  I really enjoy it here.  Who'd have thought credit cards would bring people together?  Comments?

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
northface28
Established Contributor

Re: bicycle ride of credit card payoff

Do what makes you happy, in the grand scheme of things, how much does all this really matter?

BK Discharged 9/11