Did you mean: 

cc utilization and usage questions

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

cc utilization and usage questions

I am new to cc.
Sorry if these questions sound stupid.
I have searched the forum for the answers but I'm still confused.

I only have 2 cc.
Cap one secured - $650 cl
cap one quicksilver mc - $500 cl

1. I was reading about the cli steps.
Does the secured card use this step process too?

2. I read cap one likes heavy usage for bigger cli.
Is the utilization the total amount charged during the month or the amount billed when your statement is available? I pay online before I get the your statement is ready message.

3. Should I keep one card at 0 balance and the other at less than 10%?

I'm asking because I have 2 bills I could put on my QS card using $310 of my $500 limit. I would pif each month. But if it hurts my credit to do so I don't want to do it.
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: cc utilization and usage questions

@Anonymous wrote:
I am new to cc.

I only have 2 cc.

Is the utilization the total amount charged during the month or the amount billed when your statement is available? I pay online before I get the your statement is ready message.

I'm asking because I have 2 bills I could put on my QS card using $310 of my $500 limit. I would pif each month. But if it hurts my credit to do so I don't want to do it.

1) I can't speak to your exact question. However, after a year, you should be able to get off of the secured card entirely. Of some relevance, is your CapOne a QuickSilver, or a QuickSilver One? The QS1 has an annual fee, the regular QS does not. I'm assuming it is actually the QS1, since you have a secured card.

Because your cards are both from the same CCC, I would focus the CLIs on just one card, in this case, the QS1.