Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

credit advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

credit advice

Hello everyone,

I recently started trying to build my credit by getting my first card about a year ago. I am a student and make about 13K a year. My credit scores are around 700 and I am 20. So far I have:

Discovery it-$1,000

Bank of America Travel rewards- $1,000

Chase southwest- $3,000

Capital one Journey- $500

Target credit card- $300

Amazon- $1200

Macys- $400

My plan was to not apply for any new cards for atleast 6 months. I was considering opening a checking account with penfed. Does anyone have any experience with this. Do they do a HP when I apply? Is there any other way to get in besides working for the government? Also, if you were going to apply for CLI which card would you do it on. Any other credit advice is much appreciated.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: credit advice

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello everyone,

I recently started trying to build my credit by getting my first card about a year ago. I am a student and make about 13K a year. My credit scores are around 700 and I am 20. So far I have:

Discovery it-$1,000

Bank of America Travel rewards- $1,000

Chase southwest- $3,000

Capital one Journey- $500

Target credit card- $300

Amazon- $1200

Macys- $400

My plan was to not apply for any new cards for atleast 6 months. I was considering opening a checking account with penfed. Does anyone have any experience with this. Do they do a HP when I apply? Is there any other way to get in besides working for the government? Also, if you were going to apply for CLI which card would you do it on. Any other credit advice is much appreciated.

Welcome to MyFico

Regarding PenFed.  You don't have to work for the government to join.  There is an organization you can join for a small fee that gives you eligibility.  It is an HP to join but that same HP can be used for up to 90 days to apply for their credit cards or other products.