cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

credit for college guy

tag
play4gumbo

credit for college guy

Greetings!  Newbie here, so be kind.  I want to help my godson establish good credit as he goes to college at 18years old.  Do we need new credit in his name with me for cosigner?  Can I add him as authorized user to an account I already have and establish credit for him?  I have good credit: he is a great kid with checking and savings accounts only.  How can I help him learn the game?  Thanks!
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: credit for college guy

@play4gumbo wrote:
Greetings!  Newbie here, so be kind.  I want to help my godson establish good credit as he goes to college at 18years old.  Do we need new credit in his name with me for cosigner?  Can I add him as authorized user to an account I already have and establish credit for him?  I have good credit: he is a great kid with checking and savings accounts only.  How can I help him learn the game?  Thanks!

Welcome! Don't think you really have to worry about anyone judging you for being a "newbie" here..

Anyway, thats great of you to help him do that.  If I were you, I would first add him as an Authorised User on an account that you have that is in good standing (long age of account, no late payments, low utilizaiton % reporting). All of your good credit from that card will then report under his name.

After that, have him apply for a card in his own name - preferably from the bank he has his savings/checking accounts - they are usually good about giving credit to college kids that have an established history with them. Once the AU is reporting on his credit reports, I doubt he would have any trouble getting his first credit card.

Message 2 of 6
Comp5569
Regular Contributor

Be careful!  College is where I screwed up my credit somewhat.  I let two things get charged off.  Stupid me. 

They are still on for a little longer. I cant wait for them to go away!