cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how bad is carrying balance in terms of Credit history?

tag
user5387
Valued Contributor

Re: how bad is carrying balance in terms of Credit history?

@Feather_Hat wrote:

hey guys, i was paying my credit card today and one question popped up .

so far, i've been paying in full before the due day, but what would happen if i just pay miniume amount instead of full amount?

i know it sounds really REALLY stupid but i am new to credit card so please excus my foolish question..

so, IF i pay just miniume amount, would that look really bad to my cureent/future lenders?

could it possibly put down my credit score?

thanks !

Your current score is a reflection of your current utilization, and there's no "memory" in your score.

So if you carry a balance for a while, suffer a score hit, and then pay the balance off, your updated score will reflect that.

However, a given lender does have memory of what your balance has been at various times.  One example of negative action is balance chasing, where the lender lowers your limit as a high balance is paid down.  This does happen to some people who carry a high balance for a period of time.

Message 11 of 19
jamesdwi
Valued Contributor

it is wise to always pay more than the minimum, i like to always pay double the minimum, while paying the minimum will not effect your fico score no one knows if its a red flag in one of your current or future lenders internal scoring method. There is a reason lenders use EX reports, they get a lot of details about how you pay every month. Than can effect future approvals, CLI and auto-CLI.