Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to use credit cards to earn limit increases

tag
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: how to use credit cards to earn limit increases

Responses inline, and welcome to the forums!

@credituser123 wrote:

thanks for the reply but im very new to this and dont understand everything you said...

what do you mean current FOTM CLI givers?  are you saying that different points in time certain issuers are more prone to issue increases?  SO there are external factors besides just my history with them? Yup!  Lenders change their guidelines and their portfolio allocation (mortgage -> CC as an example) all the time based on what they feel will be most profitable among other things including marketing and macroeconomic conditions.

Amex revolvers? are you saying these are known for credit limit increases? Yeah, Amex has been one of the best credit card issuers to credit limit chase with, 3X CLI requests for a soft pull (SP) at known periods of time.

go button mashing every 17th day? Discover currently seems to allow a SP CLI request every 17 days, hence smash that button in their online interface for credit limit luv Smiley Happy.

        
Message 11 of 20
Turbobuick
Established Contributor

@credituser123 wrote:

i've read a couple of times in the rebuilting credit forum that there is a specific way to use cards to earn limit increases.  I currently have one toy limit card and one secured card.  planning to open another secured card in the next couple of days to build a relationship with my local credit union.  my question is how do i best use the cards in order to acheuve credit limit increases.  - maybe i need to get a real unsecured card to apply these tactics, please let me konw if that is the case, but regardless, my main question is as to strategy.