Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

in need of balance transfer opinion

tag
wolverine1975
Established Member

in need of balance transfer opinion

I have 2 Accounts that i'm thinking about transferring. Both are still in the 0% interest until November. Would it be wise to transfer them both 2 my BOA CARD now? that's offering a 0% interest until March of 2016 @ 3% transfer fee. Both Chase Freedom & Discover it has a balance of $2700 apiece. My BOA has A limit of $10,000 but i have to accept the offer by October. I've never done a BT before, I Just like the idea of only making a single payment. Would the 2 CCC's be upset that i balance transferred 2 BOA? Still being in the 0% interest period come October. Ahh...  almost forgot, there's $2100 already on BOA. Thanks in advance for all help and advice.

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
1GaDawg85
Valued Contributor

Re: in need of balance transfer opinion

I'd maximize the 0% purchase interest on both cards till the very end then move

FICO 5 ,4, 2 - 10/2023                            FICO 8 - 10/2023                                   FICO 9 - 10/2023                                   FICO 10 - 10/2023

Message 2 of 9
jsucool76
Super Contributor

does the card offering the balance transfer also have an intro 0% APR currently, or is it standard APR? 

If it is standard APR, the balance transfer will not really help you. You would continually accrue interest on your current balance ($2100) and any minimum payment you made would be applied only to the 0% balance transfer. 

Say your minimum payment is $25 

You have a 5400$ balance at 0$ 

and a $2100 balance at your standard APR (we'll just say its 15.99% for the hypothetical situation) 

if you pay $25, you take your $5400@0% down to $5375

however your balance subject to your standard APR ($2100) stays the same. 

If you pay $50 (With a minimum of $25)

your $5400@0% will go to 5375