Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

is American Express worth it?

tag
TheRealJosh94
New Contributor

is American Express worth it?

So about a month ago, I think, I've noticed an American Express card on my waiting list. However, researching their charge cards, and non-charge cards I figured out that my thin file <1 year of credit history that I won't get approved for their regular credit cards. So it brings me down to their charge cards with fee, and it looks like a great card for me, but what makes AMEX so great? I was looking into either their green card, gold card, and PR gold card. What would would suit best for me that I'm a college student working full time at BB, so I might want to buy a tv soon Smiley Happy What are the pro's and con's to them? 

Thanks in advance! 

Current:

AAoa 4 months 

Credit history 8 months 

6 inquires on EQ. 

4 inquires on TU.

(PIF always) 

Current line: Capital One Journey's, $750, Capital One Venture 10k, Discover IT card, $2100 , American Express Gold Card, NPSL, BestBuy Citi Card, $4000, Chase Marriott 7k, Chase sapphire 3k, Citi simplicity 2k, Citi diamond preferred 2.8k.
Age: 20 Credit score: EQ: 760 TU:750 EX:745 Goal: 800 age 25
Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
enharu
Super Contributor

Re: is American Express worth it?

The pros are the benefits, including extended warranty etc. but nowadays many other cards, ie discover have these features too.
MR points are very good for travel too, if you travel

For your case, if you don't spend that much, the card may not suit you as well because of the AF. It's really up to you. There's hardly any black and white answer.

It really depends on how much you spend, what you spend on, and what you are expecting your card to do for you.