Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

new travel card from AMEX or CHASE ?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

new travel card from AMEX or CHASE ?

Entertaining the idea of getting one or two (combine HP) new travel oriented CC, sign up bonus is great but also looking for perks (more below), so would like some suggestions.

I've been using CHASE cards for a few years now (CSP->CSR, Freedom and FU) and have no compliants.

Haven't used AMEX much (except fidelity amex which was the only 2% card but has perhaps also have kicked me out of their list for the targeted 100K plat offers).

But I've heard more unpleasant stories about AMEX (FR, Freeze and Clawback points, let you check for limit but doesn't really let you do it often, etc), I understand that AMEX is not the only party in these stories and stories can be told in various ways to make one party look better or worse, but in generally I got an impression that AMEX seems a bit shaddy and I'm not sure I want the hassle of dealing with them at all (while, on the other hand, CHASE seems to be quite up frount and doing busniess fairly, 5/24 is not welcome but it is 5/24, it doesn't  become 3/24 after you have opened account or even after bouns points). Also most of my points are UR and introducing a bit of MR into the mix doesn't seem like a good idea either, thus leaning towards chase. 

One specific thing that I'm wanting is Marriott's gold status as I have started to stay with them more often but not 50 nights/year.

Cards that I'm looking at:

RITZ:

+ gold status, 2~3 nights at RITZ seems like one of the better sign up bonus of a hotel card.
+ can make use of the $300 and -$100
+ chase card?
- while I'm okay with putting 10K on it, there seems to be cheaper options below.
- other perks like PPS overlaps with CSR

SPG:

+ 40K (35+at least 5k from spending) will translate to over 120K of Marriott points
- I don't plan to put 30K on this to get gold status
- don't see any valubale perks
- amex card?