cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

question(s) about credit and cards

tag

question(s) about credit and cards

being a newbie here... i have to ask .. how does it all work, couple questions i have ...

1). how does having so many open credit lines help boost your score / credit rating ( explain thoroughly if you can )... i don't get it ... having 5-6 open credit cards / lines boosts your score ?.. how do you keep up with all of that... having $100,000+ in credit lines / cards.. i just don't get it  i mean i get the idea... but i just don't "get it" ... like how that works  ... how is that possible

2) ( question i really want answered ) how do you keep up with all of that... where do your store or put all those cards ?... reason i ask is because i'm interested into trying to get started , or try and do something along those lines ( having mulitple cards and keep low %10 ult balances or so have you )... but yeah... how you keep up with all of that .

last but not least .

3) give me your thoughts and opinions on the matter... eager to hear from anyone who's willing ...or have some solid advice ...

Starting Score: EX 649 EQ 649 TU 653
Current Score: EX 649 EQ 649 TU 653
Goal Score: 760+ Across
Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 31
30 REPLIES 30
Shogun
Moderator Emeritus

Re: question(s) about credit and cards

Autopay is your friend.  Always set that up, just in case.  I have 8 CCs.  I carry 2, plus my debit cards.  The others are kept in my safe.   I rotate the one I carry, just to give it some use.  I have some things autopaid to my CC, then my CC autopaid.  If that makes any sense.  I do have more cards and more CLs than I'll ever use now.  Kind of went overboard a bit.  

Starting Score: 504
July 2013 score:
EQ FICO 819, TU08 778, EX "806 lender pull 07/26/2013
Goal Score: All Scores 760+, Newest goal 800+

Current scores after adding $81K in CLs and 2 new cars since July 2013