cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

"App Spree" Logic..help me understand this.

tag
aamex
Frequent Contributor

"App Spree" Logic..help me understand this.

What's the reasoning behind applying for multiple cards at 1 time? How does this benefit your credit profile/score? How does putting your profile on alert with all of your lenders help you establish a good relationship? Also, how does having several 500$ - 1000$ limit cards help your purchasing power? Wouldn't your creditors be less like to extend you more credit if you have many "toy limit" cards.  Doesn't this go against the old mantra "apply for credit as you need it"? 

These are all somewhat rhetorical, but I really don't understand the thought process behind it. There are several people on the credit board that go on these sprees only to end up "laying" these very low limit cards to pasture, out growing the lender or CL, etc.

I'm fairly new to the credit game..as many of you probably have history longer than i've been alive...so, there maybe something I'm missing...help me understand?

Wallet: Fidelity Investment Rewards | BOA Travel Rewards | Chase Sapphire Preferred | Discover More
Message 1 of 22
21 REPLIES 21
LS2982
Mega Contributor

Re: "App Spree" Logic..help me understand this.

@aamex wrote:

What's the reasoning behind applying for multiple cards at 1 time? How does this benefit your credit profile/score? How does putting your profile on alert with all of your lenders help you establish a good relationship? Also, how does having several 500$ - 1000$ limit cards help your purchasing power? Wouldn't your creditors be less like to extend you more credit if you have many "toy limit" cards.  Doesn't this go against the old mantra "apply for credit as you need it"?