cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

20 Y/O recent college grad in need of your valuable insight! Thank you!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

20 Y/O recent college grad in need of your valuable insight! Thank you!

Hello everyone!

I'm very new to this but you all seem to be so knowledgeable and have such valuable insights- I hope you can help! I have been monitoring my credit via Transition for awhile now and I'm looking to try to take steps to make my credit score the best is can be as I am anticipating hoping to apply for a mortgage with in the next 1-2 years. I think I'm off to an OK start- I am 20 y/o and have just graduated college so most of what is reporting are installment accounts (school loans). I'm not sure if this makes a difference but all of my loans are government loans and are a mix of subsidized and unsubsidized (and all of them remain in deferment for right now). I took my first loan in August of 2009 and have $25,342 in loans right now- I have been trying to throw a couple hundred dollars here and there at my interest throughout school. 1 of the school loans shows as "closed"

In addition to my school loans....

• I have a Victoria's Secret card which I opened in December 2009 which has $960 limit and $0 balance
  • A card with a jewelry store that I opened in November 2010 which has a $2000 limit but a balance of $1169 (no interest for a year so I am taking my time in paying this)
  • Chase Freedom CC since April 2011 with an $1800 limit and a $700 balance
  • I just opened a Bank of America CC and was approved for a $2000 last month with no balance so far.

My Transunion score is reporting as 712, Experian is reporting 698, and Equifax is reporting a 700.

The report says " these are the factors impacting your score: