Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2001 Charge off!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

2001 Charge off!

Hi, I am paying this off. The amount I owe is 950 and this is a settlement amount. I live in Michigan and the sol is 7 years. This should fall off my CR march of 2008. Should I pay it? I have payed on it already does it re age like they told me? They also said they can't do a PFD. PLease advise! Should I pay it or let it fall off?
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 2001 Charge off!

The date the account was closed was Nov, 2004! Date of last activity Aug 2007. So is the SOL from the date clsoed or what?
Message 2 of 9
jschaffer
Regular Contributor

At this point, since you've been paying it, you reset the SOL after every payment. Just because it falls off your credit report doesn't mean they can't now sue you in court for a judgment which honestly might be much worse than what it was doing to your FICO score.

And I'm no expert on the matter, but If I were a creditor and I knew I could no longer report on someone that owed me money soon, I'd probably sue them in court too as a last chance to collect. Hope this helps. Smiley Happy
Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

I spoke with the manager from NCO fin and he said he can't do that cause he does not own the accounts. Is this true?
Message 4 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

joemc3 wrote:
The date the account was closed was Nov, 2004! Date of last activity Aug 2007. So is the SOL from the date clsoed or what?

The CRTP does not change from DOFD   The SOL might be with each payment.Most states go by DOLA.

Sol is 6 years   BUT   you need to get more info. from your state to be sure what constitutes DOLA or if they even go by it.  This link is not clear.

NEVER talk to a CA on the phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!! everything in writting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CMRRR

Message Edited by HappyDays on 09-07-2007 02:42 PM
Message 5 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable