Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

4 Soft Inquiries by my old Mtg Company

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

4 Soft Inquiries by my old Mtg Company

Hey everyone.....I'm a newbie here....thanks in advance for any help you can be.

I am starting to go back and rebuild my credit and notice on my TU report that GMAC Mtg has done 4 soft pulls on me since 4/06. I paid my mortgage off with them back in January of '06. Why the heck do they need to be accessing my credit report FOUR times AFTER our business has concluded. Just FYI, they were paid in full when we sold our home.
They pulled  4/06, 7/06, 10/06 and 1/07.

These were soft pulls, but I still have to question their motives for the inquires.

Is this legal?

Thanks

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: 4 Soft Inquiries by my old Mtg Company

Nope- It is not legal

They did not have PP.
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the help.

I had previously planned to send out a GW letter to them to see about removing some of the lates on the account. Do you think I should send the GW's prior to the "pay me lowlife" letter. Smiley Happy I think I need to send those out prior........that way if they don't take them off, I will at least know I have an alternate route to take to get them to work with me.

Anyone else have opinions on how I should proceed?

Message 3 of 10
SmartCookie
Valued Contributor

You can try a seriously modified GW letter if you want... but IMHO companies will keep doing this unless we the consumer enforce our rights and teach them that we take this very seriously and know we can sue and win. 

I would go right to the non-authorized INQ letter http://ficoforums.myfico.com/fico/board/message?board.id=generalcredit&thread.id=3900 and let them know they are liable for 4k in court.  I personally would ask for half that if they wanted to avoid the mess.