Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advice on Fico Scoring - 95% AMEX

tag
mobiledynamics

Advice on Fico Scoring - 95% AMEX

Hello All -

Todays Fico Score is 728 on ScoreWatch

This is based on 95% of my charges on my Amex Personal Gold Card.

On my MC, I generally average 1800 monthly on a 10K limit on my Mastercard.

I hardly ever use my Mastercard for anything.

My monthly average with Amex is about 12-15K.

Both bills are paid on time.

Since the Amex is not a revolving credit card but a *charge* card, I'm not sure how much a role it plays with my FICO scoring.

Should I decrease how much I use my Amex, apply for another visa/mc and use my visa/mc's more.

I have been using Amex for 12+ years now and I tend to use them as often as I do because the few times I've needed them to dispute a charge, they have always had my back ! Even charges past the typical 90 day window...

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
takeshi74
Senior Contributor

Re: Advice on Fico Scoring - 95% AMEX

@mobiledynamics wrote:

Todays Fico Score is 728 on ScoreWatch

This is based on 95% of my charges on my Amex Personal Gold Card.

How did you determine that?

There are prior threads on charge cards and FICO scoring.  Here's one found with a quick Google search:

http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Understanding-FICO-Scoring/How-exactly-do-charge-cards-impact-utiliz...

Message 2 of 4
mobiledynamics

In googling, I did find that Amex reports highest balance as well as late/not paid months.

To clarify the OP, I have 3 cards. 2 Amex (bix, personal) and 1 MC.

95% of my charges are AMEX. It's my go to card. My average monthly charge with Amex is 13-15K .

I use my MC as well. My average charge is about $1500-$2K  on it.

Should I DECREASE how I use my my Amex, use more of my current MC, open up another mc/visa and use more of a credit card (versus my charge card amex)....

Message 3 of 4
OhioCPA
Frequent Contributor