Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

American Express - Need Advice

tag
smallfry
Senior Contributor

Re: American Express - Need Advice

Wish I had seen the post sooner I could have saved you the inquiry (inquiries). I have a BK 7 from mid 2000 scores were higher than yours utilization lower declined for the BK as well. From what I hear AMEX is getting to be one swift pain in the you know what lately. Let'em choke on their plastic. Tell ya what. I got a CITI Mastercard the Platinum Select. No AF my rate was middle to high at 15.24. Low as 10.24 APR. I got a 3K line to start. CITI is a nice prime card. Why not give them a shot? Lots of peeps love CITI. Good luck.
Message 11 of 24
Bruiser
Regular Contributor

i applied on the 19th and got denied to a bk
i called them and had a supervisor look it over, he said no because of bk
i sent them a letter and I'm waiting for a response,....i'm not going to give up very easily

but the bk is bad in the eyes of amex
BK 7 Filed: 08/07/15
BK 7 Discharged: 11/04/15
Discharge Scores: Equifax (572) - TransUnion (586) - Experian (511)
Goal: 700+
Credit Cards: NFCU nRewards ($500) - CapOne Platinum ($300) - CapOne QuicksilverOne Rewards ($300) - Victoria's Secret ($250) - Firestone ($1200)
Auto Loan: NFCU ($34.6K @ 7.7%)
Message 12 of 24
smallfry
Senior Contributor

I don't need AMEX that bad.
Message 13 of 24
Anonymous
Not applicable

I applied on the 12th and was denied called reconn they notified me on the 21st that they was going to stick to their guns and not approve me because of the bk from 2001. I give up!!!!! they can keep it. Credit scores are all in the 700's what more can they ask for....
Message 14 of 24
Bruiser
Regular Contributor

smallfry wrote:
I don't need AMEX that bad.

hey, they smacked me with a hard inq,..i'm going to fight for that point dropper
the little things add up, especially when you're trying to rebuild your credit
BK 7 Filed: 08/07/15
BK 7 Discharged: 11/04/15