cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apply credit card, got rejected because of not issued social security number.???

tag
anlanchi

Apply credit card, got rejected because of not issued social security number.???

Hello everybody.

I am an international student and got my master degree last year. So far I have been working in the  U.S for one year, full - time employed.

I have begun to apply credit card since this April.  All of my application are rejected.... The reason is always like" credit report is missing and invaild", "no credit history"

I checked my credit socre from 3 credit bureau but got nothing.."no infomation".... Then I applied secured credit card and have used it for 4 months.

Lasy week i applied for Discover More Card, some body called me and asked me to fax my social security card copy to them.

But I got rejected again .  The reason is "Unable to verify credit info / application infomation"..

I called discover who said my social security number is not issued!!!!  They advised me to contact SSA office.

But I got my ssn last May, got employed, submitted tax report to IRS..  My SSN is not issued right now???

Is there anybody can give me some suggestions?

Really appreciate your help.

thanks.

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Cageym
Established Contributor

Re: Apply credit card, got rejected because of not issued social security number.???

Not sure I'm reading this right. Are you a US citizen that was going to school overseas and you never had a SSN before or are you a resident alien working in the US? If you aren't a citizen I don't think you would have a SSN, I think it would be a Tax Payer Identification Number (think that's what it's called).

What's in my wallet: Cap1 Venture NFCU Sig Visa Delta Gold Amex BCE Citi Simplicity IHG World MC Amazon Visa CSP
Starting Score: 5/2010 550-ish
Current Score: 6/20/2013 TU 800 6/20/2013 EQ 770 6/20/2013 EX 775
Goal Score: 800 accross the board
Message 2 of 13
DaveSignal