Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Authorized User Dilemma, Help!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Authorized User Dilemma, Help!

Okay, so I've been rebuilding my credit for about 6 months. It's been going pretty well, as you can see from my signature scores. But I have VERY tiny limits on my credit accounts, so utilization is a huge problem.

I have the 99/500 from BofA and a $200 secured Discover It card. I've paid the Discover down to zero, but I'm still at $406/$500 on the BofA thanks to a couple of emergency expenses, and I can't pay it off anytime soon, and I have balances on some store cards where I bought some things I've been needing for ages and couldn't really afford. (Yes, I know some people believe you shouldn't buy things you can't afford, but this was clothes for my kids and stuff they've been needing badly for a long time, as well as a keyboard for the computer I use to work from home, so I really HAD to.) I have the money to afford the monthly payments, but not a whole lot else.

Anyway, my son added me as an AU on his $8,300 NFCU card and his $1,700 Discover card to help my utilization, which it did. I'm up over 600 on all three bureaus according to Credit Check Total.

But the dilemma is that my son recently moved out and has started being irresponsible with his credit. He's run his NFCU card up from around $600/$8,300 to $3,500/$8,300. When this reports to the credit bureaus, my score is going to tank BIG TIME. He bought something at Best Buy, several hundred dollars worth of stuff at Walmart, and a $2500 car. Keep in mind that he is 21, doesn't have a driver's license, and has never been behind the wheel of a car in his life. Additionally, he discovered AFTER he bought it that he can't afford the insurance on it, and that the Blue Book value of the car is less than $1,400. Smiley Sad