Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Authorized User - Should I add myself?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Authorized User - Should I add myself?

I am new to credit improvement and had a question about increasing my limit by adding myself to an account in my wife's name.

My current credit card limits are about $12k. Util is always 5-15%. When I started this, I went on an app spree and now have over 20 inquiries that will be one year old this summer. I have since been sitting back, using cards to show payment responsibility and paying them faithfully. 

My question is, should I add more available credit by having myself added to one of my wife's accounts? She has several cards, one of which has a $10k limit and is never used. So, if I understand correctly, I could have her add me as an authorized user and take advantage of the increased available credit. I have read that having more available credit reporting is helpful to scores but I wanted to check with the pros here before I make any decisions!

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Authorized User - Should I add myself?

Being added as an AU can be beneficial, just thinking of the Fico scoring.

If the age of the account is older than yours, it will bump yours out a little.

If the CL is good, it will increase your total.

As long as the UTI is lower than 10% and no lates, it will benefit you.

If someone were to perform a manual review of your credit, it would be obvious it was not a picture of your credit standing.  If you're not going for a mortgage soon, it should be Ok.

hth

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

If someone were to perform a manual review of your credit, it would be obvious it was not a picture of your credit standing.  If you're not going for a mortgage soon, it should be Ok.

Good advice from ASBinJax.