cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bad credit, credit card with a high balance, and a very high APR. PLEASE help me!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Bad credit, credit card with a high balance, and a very high APR. PLEASE help me!

Good morning everyone.  I'm new to the FICO Community boards, but not to MyFICO.  I've been using the service for over a year now.  I need some help or opinions, though.  I have a very low credit score and a credit card (which I've had since I was probably 18... now 25) with a very high APR, and a very high balance.  I'm never getting anywhere with payments because the APR is 29.9%.  It is killing me.  I cannot get my balance to decrease unless I make a large payment.  And even after I make the large payment, I turn around and end up earning that amount or more in interest the next month.  It is plain crazy.  I've asked them to lower my APR and they will not do it.  My bad credit score and high balance are from over the past few years.  I left a job and lost insurance, moved back home with my parents, took a minimum wage job and struggled through the last 2½ years.  I'm finally in a stable place with my career and am trying to get my credit under control and back to a good place.

I don't know what the best course of action is.  Should I try to obtain a secured card and transfer parts of my balance over to it and pay on both credit cards??  I don't know of any cards that have high limits and low APRs for people with bad credit, so I'm really not sure what to do here.  I need out of this crazy spiral, though.

Can anyone help?

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
GregB
Valued Contributor

Re: Bad credit, credit card with a high balance, and a very high APR. PLEASE help me!