Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Buying a Home in 2011, Looking for Advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Buying a Home in 2011, Looking for Advice

Hi. 

I'm hoping to buy a new home next year and looking for some advice.  Here is my current situation.

I'm currently enrolled at the University of Washington.  I'm a senior and will graduate this coming June, 2011.

I'm currently renting a house and the lease ends on August 31st, 2011 and hopefully will have a home

to move into.

If all goes to plan, I want to close on the home sometime in early August, 2011.

I want to apply for a FHA Loan for the home.  The total amount of the loan I'm hoping for is 250-300k. 

So here are the numbers.

Currently, I have a 750 Fico Score Avg from the 3 Major Companies.

I have just bought a new Honda Fit in May.  The payoff on the car is 15k ATM.  I did a zero down, 1.9% loan on the car.

I have little to no balance on my 3 credit cards I have.  I got them when I was 18.  I'm 21 right now.   I use them a lot, but always pay off 2

of them before the statement date, while revolving a small balance on the one I did not pay off before statement date, to show I'm using

the cards.

I will owe about 12k in student loans when I graduate in June.  My income from work is 45K a year.

Now here are the questions.

I will have about 30k saved up when I graduate in June.  Should I use that money as a downpayment on the house, or should I pay off

my loans?  If I should pay off my loans, which ones should I do?  If I pay off both the car and the Student loan, I should still have

enough to pay a 3.5% downpayment on an FHA loan.

Or should I just pay off the car, or just the student loan?  The APR on the car is very low at 1.9%.

Also my father will be cosigning on the loan.  He has good credit, and owns our home.  We have a lot of equity in our home.  About 100k.

He makes about 70K a year.

Thanks for reading my post, and thanks in advance for the advice and help.

Message 1 of 13