07-22-2009 09:44 PM
I just read somewhere that California law requires that you be notified before a negative report can be reflected on your credit record. Is this true?
California Civil Code Section 1785.26
Requires 30 day notice to consumer of negative credit reporting. Applies primarily to collection agencies, not credit cards since you contractually agree to such reporting when you accept their credit card.
myFICO is the consumer division of FICO. Since its introduction 20 years ago, the FICO® Score has become a global standard for measuring credit risk in the banking, mortgage, credit card, auto and retail industries. 90 of the top 100 largest U.S. financial institutions use the FICO Score to make consumer credit decisions.>> About myFICO