Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CREDIT SCORE IMPROVEMENT

tag
PINUP-INK

CREDIT SCORE IMPROVEMENT

Hey Gang~

I am working on improving my credit but especially my score and I am curious as to if there are no newly reported possible negative information on my account and I have been paying all of my credit cards (I have 1 store card and 1 small credit building card) as well as my utility, cell phone, and car loan payments all on time, how long will it be until I see improvement in my score?

Currently Experian has me at 670 but as most of you know, this is keeping me from getting a decent interest rate, and I am looking to purchase a 2nd car for commuting and refinance my current car loan (The family truck!).  With this credit score I am getting offers of 11.99%!!!! Which is just not happening when my current loan is 3.4%.

Any help is appreciated, I am new to this, I never had parents to guide me in proper credit management and learning the hard way has cost me thousands and now that I am in my 30's I'm finally on an upswing but want to be informed and do some research before I run my credit again.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: CREDIT SCORE IMPROVEMENT

Are you certain the 670 is a FICO?

Assuming it is a FICO, I know of many posters on here who received low single-digit APRs on new car purchases with scores around yours, and even lower. I'd aim for a CU from somewhere and you're bound to get a lower rate.

Message 2 of 4
takeshi74
Senior Contributor

Have you pulled your reports to verify that there isn't anything that needs to be corrected?

What's your utilization like?

Message 3 of 4
HoldingOntoHope
Valued Contributor