cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can you recommend someone at Equifax I can speak to?

tag
d333moore
Established Member

Can you recommend someone at Equifax I can speak to?

I have been disputing an account from Midland since August 2014. Finally through a post I found here I was able to get them to agree to remove the account. They sent a letter and response saying that the account would be deleted. I forwarded this letter to all of the credit bureau's who removed the account and within 24 hours Midland added the account back on with extensive notes. I contacted Midland they sd that they did not and that it could take 65 days for this to be removed because they sent a letter to the bureau's ro remove. Almost three weeks later and many phone calls Equifax is still saying the account is under investigation. I have sent in proof from the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and Midland and I am trying to have this removed as quickly as possible so that I can be pre approved for a mortgage. Please recommend a number, a person or something if you know of anything. Thank you.

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Can you recommend someone at Equifax I can speak to?

Creditors can just as quickly delete tradelines (TLs) as they can add them. Assuming Midland owns the debt / authorized to collect, they're giving you the run-around. Midland simply needs to delete the TL, and the issue is solved. Some debt collectors will suggest disputing with the credit reporting agencies (CRAs) to avoid updating the TL themselves, which costs money...

Also, some debt collectors don't want consumers to know how easy it is for TLs to be deleted; don't want to acknowledge how shoddy their collection / record-keeping practices really are.