cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can you sue a collection agency for false reporting?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Can you sue a collection agency for false reporting?

Question: I am new at this but I have learned a collection agency is reporting an item on my report. I have gone to court over the item and won. I have a court order indicating the collection agency WAS to remove the item over two years ago and as recently as Dec. 01, 07 they continue to report the item. What recourse do I have to stop the agency and to remove the item from my report? Any suggestions are welcome. Jak8e
Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
future
Frequent Contributor

Re: Can you sue a collection agency for false reporting?

Jak8e wrote:
Question: I am new at this but I have learned a collection agency is reporting an item on my report. I have gone to court over the item and won. I have a court order indicating the collection agency WAS to remove the item over two years ago and as recently as Dec. 01, 07 they continue to report the item. What recourse do I have to stop the agency and to remove the item from my report? Any suggestions are welcome. Jak8e

report them to local ag office
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes, you can.  Aside from filing with the AG before doing that I would send an ITS (Intention to SUe) letter and include a copy of the Cort Order.  Give them 2 business days from receipt to remove - if you end up suing (and reporting to the AG) the fact you attempted to corect before filing suit goes a long way as being 'reasonable' on your part. The CAs handle thousands (if not tens of tousands) of accounts - and errors do occur (common sense) - if they don't correct it when requested then they are in violation (and also in contempt of court IMO)
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes I think you can sue them, and faster than waiting for the AG. Check out this other site and forum, some good ideas tehre on suing.

Jim
Message 4 of 7