Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cap One wheres the proof.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Cap One wheres the proof.

Hi all I am new to Myfico. I really need so insight on getting my 2 Capital One cards paid off.  One Card I know I opened, they even sent proof with my sig.  Another card I never saw, they sent me bills with balances but no proof saying account was openend on line.  I saw someone else had a similar situation.  Is Cap one that bad.  How do we get proof? Will they be able to send a bill? How should I word any letters I send them I want to get a decent settlement amount. Minus any penalties.
Thank all for any help.
Message 1 of 11
10 REPLIES 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Cap One wheres the proof.

I would start by checking you annual credit report -

Look for unknown addresses,

CapOne should still be able to tell you what address they sent to and where charges were made.
Message 2 of 11
SmartCookie
Valued Contributor

Cap1 is very workable IMHO as long as you take care of it before you settle.

I think you'll have a hard time though fighting anything account where the bills had been coming to your residence all along and you did not notice it until it was charged offt.

Still, if you call them and say you are disputing charges they will send you copies of all statements so you can review them and the charges.  Maybe something will click with the other account.  If so, I'd start the adventure by putting in disputes on all unrecognized charges (chargebacks) first.

They do have a fraud or security type department address on their site, and that may be an option on their CS menu as well.
EQ 787 EX 781 TU 737 11/17/07 *** I am not an attorney. If I was, I might not clip coupons. If you want legal advice, consult an attorney. If you want my personal opinion, feel free to consider my posts***
Message 3 of 11
Anonymous
Not applicable