Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cell phone debt collection

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Cell phone debt collection

Hello everyone, I have never done this before so please be kind Smiley Happy

I am a Marine stationed in Quantico, VA and yesterday I recieved a letter in the mail from a company called AFNI. It was to notify me of a debt that I owed on a cell phone account that was opened in June of 2001 and closed in November 2001. I never opened this account and now they are threatening me with putting it on my credit report.

I did some research and from what I can find, the SOL for NY (where the contract was signed) is as such:

New York Statutes of Limitation

N. Y. Civil Practice Law and Rules: Chapter Eight of the Consolidated Laws, Article 2 - Limitations of Time:

211. Actions to be commenced within twenty years. (a) On a bond. (b) On a money judgment. (c) By state for real property. (d) By grantee of state for real property. (e) For support, alimony or maintenance.

212. Actions to be commenced within ten years. (a) Possession necessary to recover real property. (b) Annulment of letters patent. (c) To redeem from a mortgage.

213. Actions to be commenced within six years: where not otherwise provided for; on contract; on sealed instrument; on bond or note, and mortgage upon real property; by state based on misappropriation of public property; based on mistake; by corporation against director, officer or stockholder; based on fraud.

213-a. Actions to be commenced within four years; residential rent overcharge.

213-b. Action by a victim of a criminal offense.

214. Actions to be commenced within three years: for non- payment of money collected on execution; for penalty created by statute; to recover chattel; for injury to property; for personal injury; for malpractice other than medical or dental malpractice; to annul a marriage on the ground of fraud.