Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collection Co. Nightmare

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Collection Co. Nightmare

I am trying to help someone negotiate a payoff for a collection acct on their credit. The amount of the collection account is 5200. A few months ago he was told by the collection co. that he could settle the debt for 50% which he was OK with even though he wasnt even sure what it was for. Now he is trying to refi his house(I am a mortgage broker) and it need to be paid off. He assumed that the 2600 deal was good but when we tried to get payoff it was a nightmare. I was with him when he called and the guy was very rude and unreasonable. He refused to send something in writing and would not honor the deal the co. had with my customer. We requested to speak to a supervisor or someone else because at this point there was no way there was going to be any resolution. He said" I am not a customer service agent and I dont have to put anyone o the phone and if you want the payoff in writing it will be for 3900 and will only be good for few days." He doesnt know that we are refi'ing the house. We even called back 3 or 4 times and the call always gets rerouted to him.

My question is IS there any way to get a superviser or someone else to handle the account? What should someone do in order to just get the same offer that was once given to them and have a payoff sent in writing. This guy just was not having it. ANy and all advise would be apreciated.

Thanks,
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Collection Co. Nightmare

Get a lawyer. 
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

mr, I believe it is the consensus here, that when dealing with a collection agency(ca) to do it ONLY in writing...document EVERYTHING. It can and will become vitally important to you and your client. Those people are willing to do and say anything to satisfy the needs of their customers. Sad but true. I too, learned the hard way
Message 3 of 9