Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Collection accounts

tag
torndollar
Valued Member

Collection accounts

Hi,
I have 2 collection accounts that will fall off next year. Should I pay them or will they stay on my report for 7 more years if I pay them? I am getting some pretty good settlement offers (70% or more) in the mail.
Please help! I am trying to increase my score so I can buy a house next year and I am concerned about these 2 accounts.
Thanks!
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
My_dog_FICO
Regular Contributor

Re: Collection accounts

Torn,

I'm just a newbie here, but from what I've found out is that with any CA, you should first send a DV - Debt Validation letter. Send it CMRRR - Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested. I sent one today and it cost about $6. The CA then has 30 days to respond (+5 for mail delivery). Note: Do NOT sign the DV. Some bad CA's may use your signature on another form if they are unscrupulous.
If they do validate, and you do owe the debt, send a PFD - Pay For Delete. This is a letter that does not state that you are admitting to the debt, but if you were you would be willing to settle for $X.XX as long as they delete the item from your credit report. Since I'm a newbie, I don't know how well this works - yet. I'm sending a few of these out later this week for DH - Dear Husband.
If they do not validate in 30 +5 days, then you can request that the CRA remove the listing from your credit report. Send in the letters that you sent to the CA and a copy of the RR with a letter stating that the CA could not validate the debt so therefore it is inaccurate data on your report and by FCRA regulations, the CRAs must remove.